Franz Kärtner University of Hamburg and DESY, Germany
Tutorial title: “Hamburg Timing Synchronization in Large-Scale Facilities”

Franz Kärtner heads the Ultrafast Optics and X-rays Group at the Center for Free-Electron Laser Science at DESY and is Professor of Physics at University of Hamburg. He graduated from Technical University of Munich with a PhD degree in microwave engineering in 1989. He received the Venia Legendi in Experimental Physics from ETH Zurich and was on the faculty of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and Massachusetts Institute of Technology before joining DESY and University of Hamburg in 2011. His research interests include noise in classical and quantum systems, few-cycle and ultralow timing jitter femtosecond lasers and its use in attosecond science and photonics such as precision timing distribution in accelerators and light sources, photonic analog-to-digital conversion as well as novel x-ray sources. In 2014, he received jointly with colleagues from DESY an ERC Synergy Grant. He is a fellow of OSA and IEEE.

Tobias Kippenberg Federal Polytechnic School of Lausanne(EPFL), Switzerland
Tutorial Title: “Soliton micro-comb technology”

Tobias J. Kippenberg is Full Professor of Physics at EPFL and leads the Laboratory of Photonics and Quantum Measurement. He obtained his BA at the RWTH Aachen, and MA and PhD at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech in Pasadena, USA). From 2005- 2009 he lead an Independent Research Group at the MPI of Quantum Optics, and is at EPFL since. His research interest are the Science and Applications of ultra high Q microcavities; in particular with his research group he discovered chip-scale Kerr frequency comb generation (Nature 2007) and observed radiation pressure backaction effects in microresonators that now developed into the field of cavity optomechanics. Tobias Kippenberg is alumni of the “Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes”. For his invention of “chip-scale frequency combs” he received he Helmholtz Price for Metrology (2009) and the EFTF Young Investigator Award (2010). For his research on cavity optomechanics, he received the EPS Fresnel Prize (2009). In addition he is recipient of the ICO Prize in Optics (2014), the Swiss National Latsis award (2015), as well as the German Wilhelm Klung Award (2015). For his research (WoK ISI h-index 47) he is listed since 2014 in the Thomas Reuters in the domain of Physics.


  • John Travers Heriot-Watt University, Scotland
    Papers title: “Scaling optical soliton dynamics over twelve orders of magnitude: from continuous-wave pumped supercontinuum, to terawatt scale sub-femtosecond pulses”
  • Sergei Turitsyn Aston Univeristy, UK
    Papers title: “Nonlinear Fourier transform for optical data processing and transmission: advances and perspectives”
  • Eamonn Murphy European Space Agency (ESA), The Netherlands
    Papers title: “Optical frequency reference generation and distribution for Space applications”
  • Julien Fatome CNRS-Université Bourgogne Franche-Comté, France
    Papers title: “Polarization domain walls in optical fibers and ring cavities”
  • Mark Thompson University of Bristol, UK
    Papers title: “Chip to chip quantum communications”
  • Andrew Shields Toshiba Research Europe Ltd, UK
    Papers title: “Status of quantum communications networking”